Available only at Baystate Health
This is the "Home" page of the "Language Learning Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Language Learning Tools  

PLEASE NOTE: Federal & state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.baystatehealth.org/language_learning_tools Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tools for Other Languages

Radio Lingua Network offers many Coffee Break podcasts.

LiveMocha connects users with lessons and learning communities.

BBC Languages provides audio and video lessons for many languages.

 

Languages Spoken in Western Massachusetts

LANGUAGES SPOKEN AT HOME, 2000

English Only  83.9%

   Chicopee   79.2%

   Holyoke     57.2%

   Springfield  68.4%

Spanish/Spanish Creole 8.2%

   Chicopee     7.1%

   Holyoke     35.8%

   Springfield  23.5%

French 1.5%

   Chicopee    3.7%

   Holyoke      1.9%

   Springfield   1.3%

Portuguese/Portuguese Creole 0.9%

   Chicopee    1.8%

   Holyoke     0.3%

   Springfield  0.7%

Italian  0.7%

   Chicopee    0.3%

   Holyoke      0.2%

   Springfield   1.1%

Russian  0.7%

   Chicopee   0.9%

   Holyoke    0.1%

   Springfield 0.7%

French Creole  0.04%

   Chicopee     0.07%

   Holyoke      0.03%

   Springfield   0.06%

Other  4.1%

   Polish        1.4%

   Chinese      0.4%

   Vietnamese 0.3%

SOURCE:  Massachusetts Dept. of Public Health, Health Information, Statistics, Research & Evaluation Bureau, Research & Epidemiology Program

 

Spanish Language Learning Tools

Learning to communicate with people in a second language is a thrilling experience.  Please keep in mind that you must study for years to become sufficiently fluent to interact with patients or their family members in your non-native language in a medical setting. 


Language Link 

For an adventure and an intensive language and cultural learning experience, please review the various programs offered through Language Link.  The program in Antigua, Guatemala continues to be the best deal in terms of language instruction and cost.  Please direct questions about this resource to Tim Moriarty, Manager of Interpreter & Translation Services for Baystate Health.


International Language Institute

If you’d like to stay local but receive some structured language courses, please contact The International Language Institute of Massachusetts in Northampton. Staff members from this school provide the on-site Spanish classes at Baystate Health (see below). 


RosettaStone 

Borrow a laptop loaded with RosettaStone Spanish (Latin American) Level I-V.

PLEASE NOTE: Federal and state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of these educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.


 Pimsleur

Borrow Pimsleur Spanish(Latin American) audio CDs and mp3s.  Email library@baystatehealth.org for information.


 Transparent Language

Borrow Transparent Language Spanish Software on USB drive.  Email library@baystatehealth.org for information.


Employee Development

If you have a demonstrated work need you may sign up for Employee Development classes for Introduction to Spanish for Healthcare Professionals.  These classes fill up quickly!   

PLEASE NOTE: Federal and state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of these educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.


 123 Teach Me

Free online 123 Teach Me Medical Spanish Medical interviews, reviews of systems and more.


Polyglot 3.0

Polyglot 3.0 Multimedia Medical Spanish & English Translator is available online (mobile app through iTunes!)


 

Speedy Language

Purchase this pocket medical phrase book Speedy Spanish for Nursing Personnel from the Health Sciences Library for $5.95 plus tax.  We are open 7:00am-5:00pm Monday-Friday.  We accept cash, check or credit card. 

PLEASE NOTE: Federal and state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of these educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.


Coffee Break Spanish

Free online lessons with Coffee Break SpanishPodcasts available!


LiveMocha

Free online lessons with LivemochaOnline communities help keep you motivated.


BBC

Free online lessons with BBC LanguagesAudio magazines and crossword puzzles.   


PLEASE NOTE: Federal and state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of these educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.

 


 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margot Malachowski, MLS
Contact Info
Health Sciences Library
759 Chestnut St
Springfield, MA 01199
(413) 794-1862

Satellite:
Consumer Health Library
3300 Main St
Springfield, MA 01199
(413) 794-7010
Hrs: M-F 12-5pm
Send Email
 

Interpreter Services at Baystate Health

The Interpreter & Translation Services Department provides trained and competent medical interpreters 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to help medical staff communicate with limited English proficient (LEP), deaf and hard-of-hearing patients and their families.  The department provides services throughout Baystate Health via staff and contract in-person interpreters, video interpreting, and telephonic interpreting.

The primary languages spoken in our region are Spanish, Russian, Vietnamese, Polish, Portuguese, American Sign Language, Arabic, Mandarin, and Somali.  Other languages spoken by patients at the hospital include Akan, Bosnian, Karen, Kirundi, Khmer, Greek, Italian, Korean, Swahili, Tagalog, and others.

Video and Telephonic interpretation is available when face-to-face interpretation is not readily available or for quick check ins with patients or their family members.  Any house phone can be used to connect with the external telephonic interpreting company by dialing 0 to reach the hospital operator, who will then connect the staff member to the agency.  More than 100 languages can be accessed in less than one minute via the telephonic interpreting company.

For more information on the value of trained medical interpreters, consult the International Medical Interpreters Association., the National Council on Healthcare Interpreters (NCIHC.org), the National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters, or the Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip