Point of Care Tools
Point of Care tools are designed to help clinicians quickly locate evidence-based information at the point of care. Customarily, they are more helpful with broader questions than they are with more focused clinical issues. Information comes from reliable sources. Many include medical calculators, tables and other tools.
- Best Practice
- Clin e-guide
- MicromedexWell-referenced drug information. Includes CareNotes (Patient Education information).
- Natural StandardGreat information on herbals and integrative medicine.
- UpToDate
Learning To Use the Library Databases
If you are wondering how to best use the library's databases in order to find information, we offer several options.
Call Loretta Grikis, Reference Librarian at 794-1894 to schedule an appointment if you would like an overview of all of the library resources that could be relevant to your project or your daily work. You can also call her with a quick question which might be answerable by phone.
If you have time, feel free to look at these online tutorials that are available for some of the databases that the library subscribes to:
Bibliographic Databases
Bibliographic databases index journal articles and provide access to citations, abstracts and in many cases, the full-text of articles. Use a bibliographic database such as Medline (available in PubMed and Ovid interfaces) to prepare a lit review.
- Medline (PubMed interface)Biomedical and Life Sciences Literature
- Medline (Ovid interface)Same content as Medline (PubMed), just a different interface.
Scroll down the list to Medline (Ovid). - EBM Reviews (Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, etc.)Scroll down the list to EBM Resources.
- Health BusinessFocus is on the business aspects of healthcare.
Scroll down the list to Health Business. - ScopusContains access to peer-reviewed literature, but also reliable web sources and conference papers.
- Psychiatry Online
- CINAHLNursing/Allied Health
Scroll down the list to CINAHL.
Helpful Electronic Books
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Reference Librarian Baystate Health Sciences Library 759 Chestnut St. Springfield, MA. 01199 (413)794-1894 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Search for the Library Journals List
Tufts Hirsch Health Sciences Library
As a Baystate Resident, you are able to access the resources of the Tufts Hirsch Health Sciences Library as well as the Baystate Health Sciences Library.
If you need help obtaining a UTLN, contact Martha Anderson in Academic Affairs at 794-8940.



Loading...
